CINCINNATI — Ohioans are now legally allowed to buy and use marijuana.
The state’s Department of Health said Monday that the medical use of the drug is legal for anyone over 21 and anyone over 18 with a physician’s recommendation.
Ohio’s Department for Aging, Disability, and Rehabilitation has also approved the sale and possession of up to an ounce of marijuana.
Medical marijuana has been legal in the state since March 1.
Ohioans can purchase and possess up to one ounce of the medicine at retail stores.
Ohio has approved the possession of two ounces, as well as for patients with a certain condition, and for caregivers of patients with certain conditions.
The medical use is also allowed under state law.
A medical marijuana caregiver is a person who is authorized to provide care for a patient.
They can also be a doctor, nurse practitioner, pharmacist, registered nurse, licensed dietitian, podiatrist, chiropractor, physical therapist, chiropractic technician, physical therapy specialist, podiatric surgeon, physical medicine specialist, or podiatric podiatry specialist.
A caregiver may also serve as a pharmacist or provide other professional services related to the care of patients.
The caregiver must be 21 years old and have no more than 30 days of experience in the field of medicine.
A registered nurse may also be licensed to prescribe, dispense, and administer marijuana for a limited time to a person over 21 who has an approved qualifying condition, including epilepsy.
A physician may prescribe up to two ounces of marijuana for up to five patients a day and may not prescribe more than five ounces of cannabis in a single day.
A pharmacist can only dispense and dispense medical marijuana to a patient for a specified period of time and must not dispense more than two ounces.
A podiatrician may prescribe a limited amount of marijuana in a limited number of doses and may only prescribe marijuana to patients with approved medical conditions.
A podiatrist must have at least six years of experience as a podiatric physician and must have a license from a board approved by the Ohio Board of Podiatry and Associated Professional Colleges.
A licensed dietician may prescribe an amount of medical marijuana not to exceed one ounce for up-to-five patients a week.
A physical therapist may prescribe between five and 10 ounces of medical cannabis for up as many as five patients.
A veterinarian may prescribe marijuana for an amount not to be more than 10 ounces.
Cincinnati Mayor John Cranley has also signed a bill that would legalize recreational marijuana, a change that would go into effect immediately.
Cranley said in a statement Monday that he supports Ohioans who have tried marijuana and want to continue to do so, but that it is up to the state to make the final decision on medical marijuana in Ohio.
Cannabis use has been illegal in Ohio since 1998.
In a statement, the Ohio State Medical Association (OSMA) said it welcomes the legislation passed by the House and Senate to legalize marijuana use in Ohio and encourages the legislature to follow the example set by other states and allow Ohioans to legally purchase marijuana in stores.